Cleanup

If a Subversion command cannot complete successfully, perhaps due to server problems, your working copy can be left in an inconsistent state. In that case you need to use TortoiseSVNCleanup on the folder. It is a good idea to do this at the top level of the working copy.

Figure 4.34. The Cleanup dialog

The Cleanup dialog


In the cleanup dialog, there are also other useful options to get the working copy into a clean state.

Clean up working copy status

As stated above, this option tries to get an inconsistent working copy into a workable and usable state. This doesn't affect any data you have but only the internal states of the working copy database. This is the actual Cleanup command you know from older TortoiseSVN clients or other SVN clients.

Refresh shell overlays

Sometimes the shell overlays, especially on the tree view on the left side of the explorer don't show the current status, or the status cache failed to recognize changes. In this situation, you can use this command to force a refresh.

Include externals

If this is checked, then all actions are done for all files and folders included with the svn:externals property as well.

Delete unversioned files and folders, Delete ignored files and folders

This is a fast and easy way to remove all generated files in your working copy. All files and folders that are not versioned are moved to the trash bin.

Note: you can also do the same from the TortoiseSVNRevert dialog. There you also get a list of all the unversioned files and folders to select for removal.

Revert all changes recursively

This command reverts all your local modifications which are not committed yet.

Note: it's better to use the TortoiseSVNRevert command instead, because there you can first see and select the files which you want to revert.